#15- Spreading The Wealth

In addition to my membership affiliations with SAG and Mensa, I also belong to a classier, less-celebrated group that serves the public: those that log dollar bills through “wheresgeorge.com”. We are a quiet genius, requiring little recognition for our civic duty. Basically it’s a website that allows you to track where a dollar bill has been, hence the clever moniker. If you see a bill that has been stamped with “wheresgeorge.com” you can log on and see where it’s been. I’ve done it several times and usually come up with a distance travelled somewhere in the range of .6-2 miles. This makes me angry. Today I was feeling really crazy and decided to tug on the balls of fate.

I dispursed wheresgeorge.com bills throughout the country.

I sent stamped dollar bills to my friends who live the furthest from me, so that my fellow WG members could experience the excitement of locating such a well-travelled bill. This was a high risk move as I am unsure whether or not this is frowned upon. I could be blackballed just by making this action known.

Fun Factor: 7

2 thoughts on “#15- Spreading The Wealth

  1. I’m concerned(and not because of your metaphor about “tugging on balls”). It is against the law to deface or defile U.S. currency. I know it probably doesn’t seem like a big deal to you, but unfortunately this is how some hardened criminals began their path to a life of incarceration. Stealing stamps, paper clips, and assorted office supplies is only the initial high. Then pretty soon you think it’s okay to play liar’s poker with bills when you’ve been drinking. Of course, the next step seems innocent enough ,when someone suggests that you write a note, put a phone number, or stamp some traceable message on it. Before you know it, you’re joining a terroist group, robbing armored trucks and toying with the idea of overthrowing some South American government. Remember what the famous English bard said: “Oh what a tangled web we weave , when first we practice to deceive.”
    P.S. I will ,however, accept any of these bills that you are supposedly sending all around the country. If you check your address book I should be located in a prominent spot. I can assure you that if I receive 50 crisp, one dollar bills I will put them into circulation ASAP.

Leave a Reply

