#55- Would you consider a paper mache moosehead essential?

If you’ve read this blog or know me personally, and you are not addicted to crack, then you have probably come to terms with the fact that I will never be your financial adviser.  I have as well.  

And if you worship follow Oprah’s philosophy, you have heard her say many times that if you want to buy something, you should wait a few days to make sure it’s not an impulse buy.  I bet Oprah waited a few days before buying her 8th home.  Just to make sure it was necessaryIt doesn’t inspire me to take advice from a zillionaire, but a lovely blog that I read gave me this tip (#5), so:

   I made a 30-day list for purchases.

The way it works is that you buy only essentials and pay bills, and any other purchase you want to make goes on the list.  The idea is that you will most likely lose the urge to have that item after 30 days.  Here is my list so far: 30-day-list.pdf

I am going to try to stick to this.  I have a vacation coming up, so I won’t follow it during those times, as I doubt 30 vodka tonics can be defined as essential. 

 P.S. The blog that I linked to on this post is beyond helpful and inspirational.  It is a dude that writes (most often daily) tips on how to simplify your life.  He has created such a following that he was able to quit his job and blog full time.  I will put it on my blogroll.  You should peruse it. 

Fun factor: 7

Leave a Reply

