#60- America’s Test Kitchen is for Amateurs

Upon reflection of this earlier post, I began to wonder, is Frank’s Hot Sauce really my favorite brand? Have I given other brands a fair shot at the title? No, I haven’t. So, tonight:

I performed a blind taste test.

I asked my trusty assistant to administer an unbiased arrangement of the various brands while I prepared myself for the challenge in the adjacent room. There may or may not have been a Jock Jams CD playing.

Before battle royale:
lineup0002.jpg

The line-up:
lineup0001.jpg

The incumbent- acting all cocky:
lineup0006.jpg

So, I dipped my finger in each one, and cleansed my palate with a chug of water post-taste. The assistant wouldn’t let me try them with chips, as he insisted the salt would taint the true taste of the hot sauce. He acts like he studies this shit all day.

And…………..drumroll, folks.

The WORST:
lineup0005.jpg

The Winner, by TKO:
lineup0006.jpg

Moral of this story: Wear a diaper to bed if you try this after 7pm.

Fun Factor: 10

10 thoughts on “#60- America’s Test Kitchen is for Amateurs

  1. I call taste test foul. There is no way that Choula did not win, it is by far the superior hot sauce. No chips? How can this be? Hot sauce does not stand on it’s own, it by its’ very nature is made to complement other foods. I will be submitting my protest to the proper taste test authorities.

    Thank you

  2. If it makes you feel better, Cholula came in a close #2, followed by Preferida at a more distant #3. The “loser” was the only one where I actually didn’t like the taste of it. But hey, go ahead and file a formal compaint, you magnificent bastard.

  3. at the risk of being the second reader from the office next door to leave a comment regarding this post, and thus reinforcing wild rumors regarding the productivity within said office, i couldn’t help but notice the resemblance between your taste-test lineup and the top shelf of the noble pantry.

    it looks like you’re well on your way to achieving goal 37 and subsequent locavore status. well done.

  4. I don’t know about you but I think it’s good parenting to encourage your children to become foreign hostage bait……maybe next you could encourage her to refuse asthma treatments during flu season.

Leave a Reply

