#67- Let’s add a dash more Prozac to the water

Just another day of social experimenting over here. I would say that I am pretty decent to strangers. For the most part, I try to make eye contact and smile. Today, I made a conscious choice and:

I said “hello” to everyone I passed on the street.

Back at the lab, I used my T-I 83 to compute that the result was a low 40%. That is, 4 out of 10 people returned the hello.  Furthermore, those that chose not to say hello back weren’t the least bit regretful. (NOTE: only seeing 10 civilians might seem like a short list, but keep in mind I have a 45 second commute to work).

Try it today- it was fun.  And depressing.

Fun factor: 6

5 thoughts on “#67- Let’s add a dash more Prozac to the water

  1. My experience in Chicago was that not only was a smile and a hello disregarded, it was actually preferable not to make eye contact at all. Once when I tried to be friendly to a man while running, he flipped me off….

  2. I wholly agree with mindbodymadness. I try not to make eye contact. Big city people are a lot like dogs or zoo animals. Eye contact is perceived as a challenge and not in a good way. Nothing good comes of that.

  3. Hey, at least 4 people said hello. I’m pretty sure I didn’t speak to anyone on my way to work when I lived in the suburbs; mostly because we all drove everywhere.

Leave a Reply

