#90- Man vs. Machine- an audience poll. Please vote so the winner may accordingly abuse bragging rights…

Tonight, Nick and I had a cook-off. He cooked salmon, and I cooked salmon. He grilled his and:

I cooked salmon in a dishwasher.

First, I buttered the foil and placed the salmon fillet on it. I squeezed a little lemon juice on it at this point too.

Then I made a cute little envelope with the foil, making sure that no air gaps existed.

Then I placed it in the dishwasher (no soap), closed the door, and put it on the hot, normal cycle.

Nick’s creation (BELOW): Grilled salmon and asparagus, roasted scallions, all served on a bed of crushed coriander and red chili pepper rice pilaf, and plated with a foam infusion of orange and ginger.

Mine (BELOW): Buttered dishwasher-steamed salmon fillet served with a lime-infused Palmolive elixir.

So, who wins? Without injecting any bias, might I gingerly mention that one of us does NOT attend culinary school.

Fun factor: 8

15 thoughts on “#90- Man vs. Machine- an audience poll. Please vote so the winner may accordingly abuse bragging rights…

  1. I did try a bite of the dishwasher salmon, but it was gross.

    Nick did say it was actually cooked almost to perfection though, in terms of its “doneness.”

  2. Your Dish-Salmon is exactly why I abstain from water-swine. Gross. Upon seeing Nick’s creation, I immediately thought one of three things:

    -You guys watch way too much Top Chef
    or
    -Nick is quite the culinarian
    or
    -Let’s just say there would be some manhood issues being questioned (foams, bro?)

    Thankfully, you added the culinary school blip. For the record, I do know about foams, ragus, reductions, and all that other stuff…..(option #3 for me perhaps?)

  3. hi, i just had to let you know, they both look not umm, so good.
    his looks ok, but the fist appears to be overcooked, the asparagus is not prepped right, and the rice looks mushy.
    other than that, the foam looks good.

    but then again, i have very high expectations

    the dishwasher salmon looks like it needs flavor, and perhaps a dog bowl to present it with.
    lol

  4. Thanks for the enlightenment, Foodpro. Perhaps we can trade skill sets and I can tutor you on some basic grammar and punctuation practices.

  5. Wow, You guys have a lot of money or time on your hands. in vegas salmon is expensive….Although I have to agree with Jon, mini drinks are soooo Vegas!!!!!! I should know. Poision worked for Juliet. well sort of…..

  6. Can I just say for the record, I never mentioned anything about Las Vegas. I said they were very popular. Put me down for another vote for the dishwasher salmon.

    Being a food safety expert, what you did was basically sous vide the salmon. This process allows for amplified flavors and moisture for the dish.

    Cogs I have actual bags you can have, the next time you want to rock some sous vide…

    Ask Nick if I am correct…

  7. long time reader, first time commenter. i’m voting for yours simply b/c you had the nerve to try something new. looks disgusting, but i’m sure it didn’t taste too bad, right?

Leave a Reply

