#113- Sign me up

I’ve been waiting and waiting and waiting to write about this exciting new thing since I signed up for it in March. I wanted to have a picture to lend clarity to the situation. The time has finally come.

I signed up for a CSA share.

I learned about Community Sustainable Agriculture (CSA) last year from my friend at work who has supplied endless amounts of fodder for this blog. Basically you sign up to buy a share of a farm’s (or several farms) bounty for the growing season. Folks from the farm will drop off the boxes of fruit, veggies and eggs to various pick-up sites throughout the city and BAM! You have fresh, organic produce each week! How fun is that? Another work friend and I split a full share so we will each pick up our share every other week.

I’ll be missing two weeks for my upcoming Eurobender, so it was my turn to start things off last night.

This is what I got.


Fun factor: 10+

9 thoughts on “#113- Sign me up

  1. Another Rohrshach moment: it looks like Kermit the Frog passed out on top of the crumpled up tablecloth. He’s laying there with his left arm extended and has a green fish balanced on his head. Unfortunately, he was also gut shot with a 55 mm shell and had some acid melt his face. His inner organs and belly seem to be somewhat disheveled. Everyone take a close look and you will see it. On the plus side: his legs would probably still be very tasty.

  2. I think I’m finally starting to get my cousin Shea; however, I do have a couple of questions for you:

    -Do you own a hacky sack?

    -Do you like the bands Phish or Widespread Panic?

    -if yes to previous question, how many times have you seen Phish or WP in concert?

    -if yes to previous question, how many times have you gone to another city to see either Phish or WP in concert?

    I’ll continue my questioning another time…..

    P.S. Congrats on the Varsity Hoops job Frank! Mike told me about it the last time he called. Let me know if you need me to come by, and share my endless array of minimal-talent low post maneuvers. Practically free of charge (just pay me in DQ blizzards or BW3 wings, please).

  3. DC- I’m not sure what you’re getting at, but no, I don’t own a hacky sack. I have, however, seen WP approximately 15-20 times and have traveled to see them for most of those shows. So there.

  4. Do you get a little card like with “Save the Children” that tells you who your farmers are and what they look like. And in response to the hacky sac questions a better line of questioning might have gone:

    1) Do you now own a condo?

    2) How much of you day is spent being consumed by white guilt?

    3) Is your decision to buy organic food in any way influenced by the vague yet menaceicing specter of “toxins”?

    4) Will you now start refering to yourself as and only assoicate with other “locovores”

    Just kidding, I bet the food is really tasty, I’m jelous.

Leave a Reply

