GUEST BLOGGER: SHERYL

As a guest blogger I decided to:

         Take a walk with my 87 yr old father-in-law.

My ‘other’ daughter thought it would be hilarious to ‘take’ me down to the high school track and take pictures as I ran a mile.  Funny as that may have been, I chose the calmer route.  It also looked like a good chance of rain, so I thought it would be cut short.

 

Bill & I before the walk.

 

When my father-in-law arrived in a wind breaker/raincoat (did I mention he ran his last marathon when he was 78 yrs old?!?), I knew he was in it for the long haul.   It was a nice muggy day.  As we rounded the corner the Walgreen’s scroll said it was 74 degrees, is that all?!?  I thought I had wiped my forehead 5 times in the last 4 blocks.  My father-in-law takes a couple of breaks on his route he told me, not because he’s short of breath, but he gets a nagging pain in his leg that after a 1 minute rest is miraculously better!  Where does he get his energy I wondered and then it hit me.  He has a pacemaker and a defibrillator.  I can’t compete with that!

 

All in all it was about 3 miles.  After my core temperature returned to normal I realized two things.  (1) I need to exercise (a lot!) and (2) I have missed out on some good times not following in his footsteps.

Thanks Bill.

 

Bill & I after the walk.

10 thoughts on “GUEST BLOGGER: SHERYL

  1. I’m in awe of your athletic ability Sheryl. As my God mother I would have expected you to dominate this walk, but you were up against the unstoppable force that is Grandpa…Try walking with Frank, he’ll want to avoid people, cut it short, and might even stop for ice cream on the way back.

  2. I tried to be a nice blog observer ,and yet I still get my reputation trampled by three people. We mock what we don’t understand!

  3. I was wondering about the bra situation. Although they haven’t looked the same since that botched lift you had done back in ’97.

  4. Oh this provided me with Great amusement! I agree with Dave!! Grandpa was here in August and he outwalked us all and still had ice cream!

Leave a Reply

