GUEST HOST: Johanna

I was one of many “Out-with-the-Old” readers that asked Shea to have guest bloggers while she was on her ’08 Euro-Tour. Not only was she leaving us for two weeks, but she also wasn’t going to post while she was there?! I could not imagine the blog going radio silent for two weeks. But, when Shea asked me to guest blog, I didn’t think I would have anything interesting to add so I said, “Thanks but no thanks.” However, today I think I might just have something fun to add:

I started an underground ping-pong tournament at work.

Needless to say, this is not approved by The Man, but I think it is great for employee engagement not to mention our mental health. To set the scene for you: we play out of the conference room and keep score on the dry erase board on the wall. The net is temporary (suction-cupped on the table), which allows for a quick take-down in case of an emergency. The only thing that is worrisome is going for one that is deep and crashing through the window. That is not even the scary part—landing in the filthy Chicago River is.

For any of you that are wondering the results, I was knocked out in the first round. I’m currently working the concession stand and playing jock jams from my iPod to lend a certain level of sophistication to the tournament.

The Court

The Equipment

Picture of Me Training for the Next Tournament

8 thoughts on “GUEST HOST: Johanna

  1. Johanna ,
    Where was the location when that picture of you was taken? It looks like a lovely place to vacation.

  2. Johanna, why did you think you had to have something interesting? I can’t believe Frank didn’t comment on the ping-pong thing, he loves it!

  3. Pingback: #147- May the best human win. « Out with the Old!

Leave a Reply

