#126- Nirvana

I’m not much of a liquor drinker.  I’ll have a margarita on a somewhat regular basis, but generally I order beer or wine.  As we settled down to 99 Hanover, a restaurant/bar in Edinburgh, a cocktail sounded so refreshing. I asked our waitress to recommend one and she produced an absolute delight.

I had the *best cocktail of my life.

I tend to keep track of extraordinary moments in food/drink in my life, and so far I’ve been able to say that I’ve had a *best breakfast (divine plate of eggs benedict and fruit in a Santa Monica cafe/ 2004) and a *best lunch (warm goat cheese salad with bread in Luxembourg City 2001), but a best cocktail had yet to occur.

It was vodka, fresh raspberries (muddled and for garnish), simple syrup and ginger ale served in a tall glass with a straw and side of rapture.

Emily drinking the creation below:

 

The cute restaurant:

Fun factor: 10

*subject may be trumped by a better contender at any given moment in time

5 thoughts on “#126- Nirvana

  1. very strange that within weeks of you experiencing the best drink of your life, i too may have experienced the best drink of mine.
    a blueberry banana bomber.
    hilton head july 2008.
    fresh blueberries.
    banana.
    blueberry stoli.
    lemonade.
    lemon juice.
    ice.
    blend.
    aaah absolutely delicious.

  2. You might want to give this one a try: a shot of Pagan Pink Ripple Wine, a dash of Strawberry Boone’s Farm, an ever so gentle touch of Mad Dog 20/20, a jigger of Hoppin’Gator, and a 1/4 can of Billy Beer over crushed ice with a spinach stalk. It doesn’t taste very good, but when people wake up after three or four of these, they have been known to have bought a parcel of land on the moon, gotten a tattoo, and proposed marriage to a transsexual.

  3. Frank, I don’t think this is a new drink. I am pretty sure VLS and his posse were drinking this very same thing while watching the draft lottery in the summer of 1970. Yes, I am certain of it. I don’t remember any type of stalk accent but the rest of the ingredients are exactly the same.

  4. Oops, my bad. I said in my previous comment that the ingredients were EXACTLY the same…I misspoke. There was no Billy Beer in 1970. Brother Billy Carter didn’t show up until 1976. I think they just threw in some Iron City.

Leave a Reply

