#146- I’m All Booked Up

I joined a book club.

 

The claim that this is a new thing might be a fib.  I think I have joined a book club before without actually attending a single meeting.  Fall of  2005.  It was a classic case of something that sounded so fun and then the realization came that not only did I have no time for the meetings, but certainly no time to read the book.  Stress crept up as the meeting date approached and all that was left to do was bail.  So sue me.  This new book club is nice, because it’s a work book club, so the time is automatically built in to my work day.  I don’t have to leave the building.  We are currently reading this book.  Yes, it’s a little heavy, but the point is to read books that are pertinent to our work.  I do have to find the time to read the book, which has only proved troublesome once so far.  The repercussion was that my end-of-year bonus was reduced by 10%. 

 

Fun factor: 8

5 thoughts on “#146- I’m All Booked Up

  1. It must be all the rage. I was recently blessed with coordinating a work book club as well. We’re reading Chasing the Rabbit by Steven J. Spear.

    Now if I could only get someone in my group to know what the hell I’m referencing when I ask “Ordinary water or holy water?” we’d all be good.

  2. I’ll have to offer up my book club selection of the month: “Under the Bleachers” by Seemore Butts. It’s a frolicing tale that will make you laugh and cry.
    “First Man on the Moon” by Hugo Furst is next month’s selection. Both are available on Amazon.com. I challenge everyone to read them both!

  3. If you really want to bring nerdiness (a word?) to a new level try what my work friends and I do…..Journal Club. There is pretty much no limit to boring nursing journal articles and I’m sure other professions can “boast” of the same.

Leave a Reply

