#150- Idle threat

My family has many holiday traditions- decorating the Christmas tree the day after Thanksgiving, shoveling obscene amounts of food into our mouths from November through February, and watching terrible holiday specials starring Dolly Parton.  Making gingerbread houses never seemed to fit in with our flashy lifestyle. So:

 

I decorated a gingerbread house.

 

Over my break last week, I tackled this void in my life and decorated a gingerbread house with my nephew.  The kit came with three different kinds of candy to use, one of which was literally hard as a rock.  After he nearly lost an incisor I told him he could eat the other two kinds, but not that one.  Every third minute I’d hear a *crack* and look at him suspiciously. He’d look me right in the eye and say, “Sorry, Shea.  It was an accident!”  After he’d had several accidents, I loosely suggested that maybe Target would accidentally be sold out of Incredible Hulk figures.  The rest of the candies were ever so gingerly placed on the rooftop. 

 

gingerbread

 

 

Fun factor: 7

4 thoughts on “#150- Idle threat

  1. Hi! I found a link to your site on someone else’s site and thought I’d stop by to say hi…I have been doing a new thing every day since I turned 29 and will finish my project when I turn 30 on March 28. I enjoy reading everyone’s new things so I can borrow ideas 🙂 I hope you don’t mind if I subscribe.

  2. These trivial things are nice, but let’s get back to the real business at hand: another caption contest. Perhaps a holiday theme would be in order.

Leave a Reply

