#157- Product of the year

Nick got a handy little tool for Christmas, and I couldn’t wait to try it out.  Tonight we had wings and potatoes for din-din, so Nick cut off the tips to save them for making stock later.  I told him I was totally planning on doing that with the chicken wing tips too, but since he said it aloud first, he could go ahead and make the stock.  In any event, we didn’t want the little guys to get freezer burned, so:

I vacuum sealed [an item] them.

 

The video kind of sucks as I was doing it incorrectly for the first few seconds and the lighting is sub par. I tried to take a photo, which also blows.  

img_0750

You get the idea.  My Grandma Ione has been doing this for years with the old suck and seal method.   I must say, the human-generated technique doesn’t work as well, and with the tool you don’t get the nasty inhalation of whatever it is your sealing. Fine enough if it’s raspberries, but when it’s fish or a stool sample, it’s hard to keep from vomiting. I searched and found the tool online here, and I highly recommend it.  Saves you money in the long run too, as less food is wasted.  

Fun Factor: 9

9 thoughts on “#157- Product of the year

  1. i think i need to try this new thing. our freezer doesn’t seem to hold enough.
    i like your list of resolutions. i need to do some of those too!
    not sure what type of books you like, but i have a huge list of suggestions if you’d like me to send them. i just finished “chasing harry winston” which was good.

  2. Yes, Heidi! Go ahead and send them. Do you use Goodreads? If so, we can friend each other and I can get them from there. If you don’t use it, you should start! http://www.goodreads.com
    It’s a great way to track your books (those to read, those you’ve read, etc…) and it’s free.

  3. No need…but thanks. Ps-how do you cut the tips off a bone? A chainsaw? Forgive my ignorance when it comes to matters in the kitchen. Nick got all the genes.

Leave a Reply

