#166- Apparently I didn’t get the memo that we’re in a recession

One of my 2009 resolutions was to track my spending.  Not just a receipt here or there but record every cent.  So, for the month of January:

I tracked my spending for a month.

I created an excel spreadsheet to suit my needs and formulas to reflect different income sources and expense categories.  No huge surprises were found, just the massive shame that goes along with excessive spending.  I won’t get into amounts but I will share with you expense categories listed most to least dollars spent:

1. Home/ Beauty

2. Entertainment

3. Utilities

4. Eating out 

5. Shopping

6. Transportation

7. Groceries

8. Laundry

I plan to do this indefinitely and the idea is that eventually my thick skull will start to make smart spending choices. Like for example, lay off of the Bye Bye Bags treatment next time I “feel ugly.”

Fun factor: 10 (surprisingly fun to record this if you pretend it’s Monopoly money)

One thought on “#166- Apparently I didn’t get the memo that we’re in a recession

  1. I’m glad to see nutrition and concern for body odor fell to the bottom of the list.

    Now might be a good time to see if you can get those undies you sucked up in the vacuum back out to wear again.

Leave a Reply

