#168: Belay on, dude…

Johanna and I were discussing our goals and dreams over a light lunch the other day when we decided to become more outdoorsy in 2K9.   We generated lists of outdoorsy things including kayaking, white water rafting and hiking.   Ultimately we thought: what better way to start this process than by climbing on and indoor, man-made wall? 

I climbed on a man-made rock-climbing wall.

Regardless of the fact that it was indoors, we felt outdoorsy doing this.  And cool.  And our teacher was hot. And we incurred wedgie upon wedgie as we belayed and climbed for 3 hours at Lakeview Athletic Club.    It was a great time, and though I’m barely able to type this right now due to severe muscle failure, I can’t wait for next week.  I was proud of myself, as I made it to the top of the 65 foot wall!  I will take pictures then and update this post (I was going to wait until then to write the post, but my very pregnant sister all but threatened me when she emailed: “MY BELLY FEELS LIKE A BOWLING BALL…MY BACK HURTS LIKE A BIZOTCH…GIVE ME SOME ENTERTAINMENT!”).  For a brief moment I felt silly for complaining about my forearm pain.  Then I got over it.

Here is a teaser of the wall:

climb

 

Fun factor: 10+

4 thoughts on “#168: Belay on, dude…

  1. I’ve been rock climbing (both indoors and outdoors) and I’m always amazed at how much my forearms hurt afterwards. Those aren’t muscles I’m used to using much, apparently.

  2. After looking at the picture of the climbing wall, I had a different sort of reaction. Instead of being motivated to work-out in an outdoorsy fashion, I find myself craving those paper dot candies I used to eat when you kids were little. Actually, I bought them for you, but usually told you they were all gone as I stuffed them in my pocket for later. Upon second glance, I also seem to be craving an M&M topped chocolate cake. Ah, the eye of the beholder!

Leave a Reply

