#181- Wined and Dined

Sorry for the delay; it took me a while to remember how to create a post.    My holiday was spent, in part, being chastised by my sister for not blogging since August.  Apparently degradation is a motivator for me.

So, it’s taken me two years to do half a year’s worth of posts…sue me, biotch.     Only time will tell if I am now experiencing a short burst of  blog energy, or if I will finally complete this project by mid-2010.  I have a backlog of new things, so the chronology of it all will have to be sacrificed.  Let’s pause for the great work chronology has contributed to us all, to date (no pun intended).

Two of my good buddies got married in November in Sonoma.  For those that haven’t been, Sonoma = wine and cuteness.  I fell in love with the place.  All I want to do now is move there and be a wine-tasting guide.  But I digress to my new thing…

I went wine-tasting.

The groom, Billy, organized a wine-tour for a big group of us for the day following the wedding.  It was a perfect ending to the trip.  Thirty of us set out on a tour bus to visit Hop Kiln and Coppola vineyards.   At both joints, we got to taste a bunch of varieties, learn about the different grape properties and purchase wine directly from the vineyards’ supplies.  I’m sure the folks who harvested the grapes and cared for the land intended for the end product to be imbibed out of paper cups on a bus full of vagrants, right?

If you ever get a chance to go to Sonoma, do it.  You can worry about refinancing your home when you return.

Enjoying the crop.

Fun factor: 10+

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Frank says:

    I kinda did something like this! One time, in college, I drank a half gallon jug of Pagan Pink Ripple wine, along with eating a huge meal of spaghetti and meatballs. The aftermath was truly techno-colorous. The toiletbowl had never seen the diverse rainbow colors I was able to deposit. To this day, I drink no wine. Correct me if I am wrong, but I think that is pretty close to what you experienced in the Sonoma Valley.

  2. Darling says:

    do P&T know they are staring on the blog these days?!?!

  3. patty says:

    Oh, I so want to live in Sonoma!!!!! I’m not sure if it was the wedding, the people, the panoramic views, or the wine, but I fell deep in love with all my surroundings……..

Leave a comment