#204: Sober Living

Side note- just noticed on my stat dashboard that people arrived to my blog by searching “mom is doing the babysitter” and “balloons play.”  I’m going to go take a shower.

Anywho, I enjoy a cocktail or five once a in a while and so I thought it might be nice to pull the breaks a bit and slow down the beverage intake.

I stopped drinking alcohol for 20 days.

I realize there’s a few things that might be cause for concern here. Have I never gone 20 consecutive days without drinking? Of course before I turned 21 yes, but since then, I’m not so sure.  Not that I am chugging Boones Farm every weekend but I probably haven’t gone 20 consecutive days without having a least a beer or glass of wine, no.  The sad reality is I aimed to go for a month and caved on day 20.  I felt good for the 20 days and only once did I miss it terribly, when Emily and I went to our favorite margarita-day-drinking-joint, Big Star.  I powered through, though.

Unfortunately, I did notice that some of my loved ones seem to enjoy my company less during my 3 weeks of spiritual enlightenment, making comments like “isn’t that over yet?”  “Why, again, are you doing this?”  “This is stupid.” And my favorite, “please don’t become an alcoholic because that would suck if you had to get sober for good.”

About to be back off the wagon.

 

Feelings of guilt ensue.

 

Fun factor: 6

5 thoughts on “#204: Sober Living

  1. Pingback: #205: Lard with a side of honey badger, please. | Out with the Old!

Leave a Reply

